“Why Would Anyone Wanna Leave Baltimore?”

I have some great, great news!

The Cristo Rey Jesuit Corporate Internship Program has hired me as a Corporate Sponsor Representative!

I could not be more excited for this opportunity. My time at Cristo Rey has been truly amazing, and I can’t wait to continue working at such an amazing place, and live in such a great city.

I’ll explain more about the position in a minute, but first, I think some big thank you’s are in order:

Mom and Dad- Pretty cool, huh? You’re oldest son has a job! Thank you for ALL of your love, support, and high expectations throughout the years. If there’s anyone who had unrelenting faith in me, it was you!

Friends and family- Your love and loyalty has meant so much to me through the years. Thank you!

Cristo Rey Jesuit and the people there- I wouldn’t want to stay if this year hadn’t been such a fantastic experience. Your devotion, love, and hard work inspire me every day! Thank you all!

JVC and Community- If not for JVC, I would never have had this opportunity. Also, thank you to my community, JVC Arrupe House. I’ve learned so much from you all this year. You’ve pushed me in ways I never thought possible, and your support for me has been so important to my year.

The People of Baltimore- I had no idea that I would come to love Baltimore as much as I do. Its people, places, and unique personality make it a place where I want to stay.

Okay, so, the job itself. Like I said, I’ll be working in the Corporate Internship Program as a Corporate Sponsor Representative.

The thing that makes Cristo Rey unique from other schools is the internship program. Each student, in addition to completing their college preparatory education, must work 5 days a month at local organizations like Legg Mason, Under Armour, and Mercy Hospital. In turn, these corporate sponsors, pay a portion of the student’s tuition. Recently, the Baltimore Sun covered the program wonderfully in much more detail.

My job will be as a liaison between the students, the school, and the corporate sponsors. It’s an amazing program and I’m honored and excited to be a part of it in such a great city!

Plus, as Bodie Broadus said in The Wire, “”Why would anyone ever wanna leave Baltimore? That’s what I’m asking.”

15 Responses to “Why Would Anyone Wanna Leave Baltimore?”

  1. Kelly Misevich says:

    Congratulations Tom! Well deserved!

  2. Sheema says:

    Congratulations, that’s awesome news!

  3. Danny says:

    Hey! Congrats on the position. Love the Wire clip too. Well played Tom.

  4. Mom says:

    Congratulations to you, you have earned this position and will be a fantastic addition to the Cristo Rey – Baltimore staff. The students of the school will benefit from your dedication to them and your desire to help move them forward for a postive,successful, and unique high school experience. You may be fortunate to have gotten this “job”, but the Cristo Rey community is the real winner here. I know you will give heart and soul and be an outstanding CSR!!

  5. David Spinks says:

    Fist bumps. Fist bumps all around.

    Congrats my friend. (=

  6. Diana says:

    Congrats! You deserve this so much, and I’m sure you’ll make everyone at CR so proud and do so much for the students!!!

    Now we have something else to celebrate on Saturday! See you soon :)

  7. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Tom O'Keefe, Tom O'Keefe, katekatebear, Andrea Snyder, Kelly Misevich and others. Kelly Misevich said: Woot Woot! Congrats! RT @TomOKeefe1: Big news! I have a job & I'm staying in Baltimore! http://bit.ly/aRTokx [...]

  8. LiLu says:

    I SO KNEW THAT WAS THE WIRE THE SECOND I SAW THE TITLE!!!!!!!!!!!

    Oh, right… and congrats and stuff. That’s awesome!!! :-)

  9. [...] my career. I had to find the intersection of Passion Street and Skills Boulevard. And, luckily, the Corporate Sponsor Representative position at Cristo Rey was right on the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

