Giving Thanks

As Thanksgiving approaches during my time with JVC and Cristo Rey, I find myself more thankful than ever, so I thought I would tell you about some of things that I am most thankful for this year. Try not to get teary-eyed on me!

  • My family. Mom, Dad, Chris, Nonna, Aunt Betty & Uncle Robert- the love and support that you give me is an enormous part of why I am able to do the things that I do. I love you guys. Thanks.
  • Coffee. ‘Nuff said.
  • My best friends, Nick and Matt. Thanks so much for everything, guys. I miss rooming together, all 3 of us, like you wouldn’t believe.
  • Comfortable shoes. You need ’em if you’re going to be a teacher!
  • My great friends, especially Sheridan, Mark, J-Ro, Pat McK, SportCourt, De, Sarah, the SAM guys, Big, Chris O. (double-shout for you, bud!), Rick, Andy, Turo, Austin, Allison, Meg, Karen O, The Herd, and Peg. I’m sure I forgot a couple in there, but ya’ll are awesome. I wouldn’t be who I am today without you! Thank you!
  • Remote Desktop in the Computer Lab (conversely, I am not thankful for MySpace and YouTube!)
  • My housemates Scottie, Stace, Kel, ‘Manda, and Rach. Thanks for making JVC such an amazing experience so far!
  • The Red Zone Channel on DirecTV during NFL games at Nick, Rick, and Andy’s.
  • All of the Jesuit Volunteers that I’ve crossed paths with; the entire JVC East staff; our FJV support people, Steve and Leah; the Jesuit Priests at Wheeler House, and the Baltimore FJV’s. Muchas gracias!
  • Free food. Seriously, any kind will do.
  • Rachelle, Matt, Anne Buchanan, and the Ryan’s for graciously writing my JVC recommendations and supporting and encouraging me through the application process. Thank you!
  • Baltimore and its welcoming people.
  • My students at Cristo Rey Jesuit who remind me why I am doing JVC every day.
  • My health (*knocks on wood fervently*)
  • The faculty and staff at Cristo Rey. The effort and dedication that you show each day is unparalleled and truly an inspiration.
  • Peanut ButterI wouldn’t make it through the year with out you.
  • My Twitter community, especially Lauren Fernandez, David Spinks, Arik Hanson, Mike Schaeffer, Samantha McCain, Rachel Esterline, Jess Lawlor, Brian Gleason, the whole team at #PRBC, Sheema Siddiqi, Ryan Stephens, #TFFL, Sasha Muradali, #journchat, Valerie Simon, Colby Gergen, Abby Schoffman, Jackie Adkins, David Mullen, KT Wall, Rebecca Dennison, Narciso Tovar, Gail Nelson, and so many more. I learn from you every day and really enjoy engaging with you. Thanks!
  • Villanova basketball
  • This blog. Thank you to all who read along!

And, lastly, I’m thankful for the ability and opportunity to complete a year of service with JVC and Cristo Rey. I am so very fortunate to be able to do what I do and take a year out of my life for service without any negative consequences. I mean, heck, it’ll probably benefit me more than anything. I am so very blessed and lucky to be where I am today. So a big thanks to the Big Guy/Gal up there looking down on me, my family, and my friends.

And with that, Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

11 Responses to Giving Thanks

  1. Mom says:

    We are the ones who are blessed and thankful for you! You are our heart and soul. You make us proud. We love you!

  2. matt r says:

    what a good looking family

  3. Colby Gergen says:

    Just wanted to say how awesome it is that your mom posted a comment as “Mom”.

    And I’m thankful for you and that community (and many others) as well. I’ve grown so much in the past year because of you guys.

  4. Jessica says:

    Thank you so much for the Twitter shoutout! I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  5. Diana says:

    I’m thankful for your family too because they’re so awesome. You’re ok too I guess… 🙂

    Happy Thanksgiving!! Enjoy your few days at home!

  6. Sheema says:

    I just saw that- thanks so much for the shout out! You were one of the first people I started “talking” to on Twitter and I am very glad I did- I’ve learned a lot from you.

  7. Tom O'Keefe says:

    Haha, gee thanks, De!

    Sheema- Thank YOU for everything. I’ve always enjoyed “talking” to you and learning from you!

Leave a Reply

