Great Expectations

On Saturday, my community had a great conversation and Spirituality Night (planned by Amanda) about our expectations for JVC before the year began.

For me, I remember trying to come into the year with an open mind, void of expectations. How could I have expectations when I had never actually experienced anything quite like this before?

During our conversation, however, I realized something: despite my best efforts not to, I did bring expectations with me to Baltimore. I loved the idea that everything would be perfect. That everything would work out how I projected it.

But guess what? That’s not life. Things go wrong and not everything can be perfect. Life takes sacrifice. It takes adapting and improvising. Expectations may be inevitable, but we have to work past disappointment and surprise when expectations don’t come true. We have to make the best of what is happening.

So, like we did in our Spirituality Night, I’m ripping up my expectations and approaching each day with an open mind and an open heart.

How do you handle your own expectations?

5 Responses to Great Expectations

  1. Katie says:

    This is so great (and true), Tom >> “Life takes sacrifice. It takes adapting and improvising. Expectations may be inevitable, but we have to work past disappointment and surprise when expectations don’t come true. We have to make the best of what is happening.”

    You’re right – even going into something blindly creates some sort of expectation – you expect to not know, or to be scared, or to be uncomfortable, of for this to be the thing that changes your life…etc. But those are still expectations 🙂

    It’s important to remember that every day is a chance for something new and to not think too hard about things and sometimes just let them happen!

    Of course, all of these things are easier said than done, but I don’t think it’s bad to have expectations – you just have to be able to let your expectations evolve and not let failures and disappointments slow you down.

    -K

    • Tom O'Keefe says:

      “Every day is a chance for something new and to not think too hard about things and sometimes just let them happen!”

      Exactly, KT!

      And it’s so important that we continually evolve and keep up the good fight. Not only do we need to adapt and improvise, but we need to overcome as well!

      Thanks for commenting!

  2. christamarzan says:

    Great topic, Tom.

    I think this is something that young professionals struggle with every day. I know I had certain expectations about what was to happen in my life after I graduated. Aside from living at home (ugh), my life is completely different from what I thought it would be right now. Never thought I’d be in touch with the people I am, or working at the place I am now. And that’s a wonderful thing.

    It’s difficult to not have expectations, though. I mean, they can be considered more like a guideline of how you want (or think) your life should go. And if they aren’t achieved or realized, that’s ok. The most important thing is to not let it affect you in a negative way if you fail, or life doesn’t go your way. I believe that everything happens for a reason. The events that happen in your life will just shape how you want everything else to go.

    -C

    • Tom O'Keefe says:

      I agree on all fronts, Christa! It’s so true that we cannot let failures and such weigh us down. Learn from them, fix them if possible, tuck them away, and move on. Otherwise, we just wallow in defeat, and who likes wallowing? Not me!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      -T

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sheema, Tom O'Keefe, Tom O'Keefe, Katie Wall, Christa Marzan and others. Christa Marzan said: Just commented on a great post by @TomOKeefe1 Working past expectations: http://bit.ly/5pXeZj #Brazen […]

Leave a Reply

