Why?

I’m not even sure how to start or even write this post. It’s something that’s hit me hard, so I apologize if it’s a bit of a jumble.

I spoke with my mother earlier today. She told me that a friend’s daughter, and the cousin of a good childhood friend, was in the Hotel Montana in Port au Prince on the morning of the earthquake and has not yet been found. She is a Lynn University student and had traveled with a group of students and staff to stay at the Hotel Montana in Port-Au-Prince the morning of the earthquake. (More details can be found here: http://www.lynn.edu/alert).

They’re still searching for her, and her family and friends are hoping for a miracle. Today, Thursday, she turns 20.

Whenever things like this happen, I can’t help but wonder, “why?” Why do bad things happen to good people? How can God, a God I believe to be just and caring, let something like the earthquake in Haiti happen? Why does God work in these ways? Why must these families have to grieve for their children like this? Why must a country as troubled as Haiti be burdened with more devastation and suffering? Why does the most earnest and genuine student struggle the most with his grades? Why must the world work like this? Why?

It was so easy for me to watch the news and see what happened in Haiti last week and feel bad and give money and then move on with my life. Now it’s finally hit home. I feel so much sorrow and hurt and anger. And the worst part is that these feelings don’t come close to the pain and hurt that many others must endure this week. Those who are there and those who lost friends and family. It hurts to think about it.

I like having answers to things, I do, or I like at least being able to rationalize them. It’s so hard not to have answers. I do my best to trust in God and sometimes, that’s all we can do.

So, pray today for the family of this young girl. Even if you don’t believe in God or the same god as I, pray for, hope for, will for a miracle. And, please, pray for all those affected by this horrible event.

Thanks.

2 Responses to Why?

  1. Mom says:

    Your sensitivity to what the family is going through is tremendous. I had no idea you would take this so strongly to heart. I know you will keep Britney and the family in your heart and prayers. Keep your faith and trust in the Lord strong, as they are doing. My heart aches for them and my prayers are with them.

Leave a Reply

