Snowpocalypse!

So, we got snow this weekend. It started on Friday at 11am and didn’t stop until about 4pm on Saturday, which was actually 6 hours earlier than what meteorologists had called for. In the end, we only received about 2 feet (they were calling for as much as 30 inches. THIRTY!). Even for my hearty New England standards, this is a ton of snow.

Seriously, people were running through the streets yelling, “Snowpocalypse! Snowmageddon! SnOwMG! Snowly Moly! Snowtorious BIG! Snowva Nation! Stay in your igloos… err… homes!”

Well, I may have been the only one yelling, “Snowva Nation!” but I was really excited about the Villanova-Georgetown game (THAT one ended well- NOT).

…OK, so nobody was actually yelling anything, but you get the point: people were not taking this storm lightly.

I spent most of the early afternoon today (Sunday) shoveling my car in preparation for work tomorrow, but it turns out Baltimore City has already canceled school! I’m definitely not in Massachusetts anymore!

Anyway, here’s a few pictures from when the storm died down (click to make them bigger):

9 Responses to Snowpocalypse!

  1. I’m SO glad I’ve recently moved back to south Texas where it NEVER snows. 🙂 Not that an occasional snow wasn’t semi-pretty, but it was usually accompanied by cold weather, driving it sucked, and at some point it turned into wet slush!

    Hope all is well Tom!

    • Tom O'Keefe says:

      Haha, I always joke that I keep moving farther south (Massachusetts to Philadelphia to Baltimore), but maybe I should move out west and avoid it altogether!

      I never really understood the people that love winter so much. It’s cold, the weather prevents you from doing things, and the snow, while pretty at first, inevitably becomes brown and slushy over time. Plus, there’s shoveling!

      Anyway, thanks for stopping by, Ryan!

  2. Diana says:

    I’M SO JEALOUS! I hate snow, but all we got was wind after the threat of a foot of snow. I hope you got a day off work for all of that snow 🙂

    • Tom O'Keefe says:

      Diana, I’ll do you a few better than just a day off. I’m on Day 2 and, with 10-18 more coming tonight, we may have Day 3, 4, and 5, too!

      Seriously though, you shouldn’t be jealous. This snow has been ridiculous. Streets still have yet to be plowed (Nick and Rick’s included), my car is still half-buried after an hour of shoveling, and people are relegated to walking on the streets because the sidewalks are piled high with snow!

  3. Katie says:

    Wow! I don’t think I’ve ever seen that much snow in my whole life combined!

    “Snowva Nation”…really!? haha! 😛

    I’m not sure whether to be jealous or thankful! I love snow, but man, that’s a LOT of snow!!!

    Stay warm!!!

  4. The picture of your car is simply Epic! Up here in Canada were usually the ones getting the snow storms so its a relief to see you guys get some of this fluffy goodness. Beautiful… Enjoy the days off.

  5. […] off for me to read (he’s been e-mailing me articles now a days). Since I had had the last 13 days off from school, I was pretty hungry for something to do, so I sat down and started reading the first article, […]

Leave a Reply

