My Birthday Gift

Tomorrow, May 28, 2010, is my birthday.

Most years, when my parents ask me what I would like for my birthday, I don’t have very many good ideas (sorry guys!). I’m not real big on gifts, and we usually just enjoy a special homemade dinner or a meal at O’Connor’s and my mother’s delicious delicious chocolate cake.

This year, however, I know what I would like. I actually need your help, to be honest.

JVC's Four Values: Spirituality, Simple living, Community, and Social Justice

Each year, the Jesuit Volunteer Corps East invites each of its participants to hike part of the Appalachian Trail to travel to Dis-Orientation, our closing retreat in August. It’s a great end of the year tradition, but, more importantly, it’s a crucial fundraiser for the JVC. In order to take part, each hiker must raise $500 in support of JVC.

I’m asking for your help in raising this money.

This fundraising effort will help JVC continue its mission to offer the opportunity for people like me to work for justice and peace around the world during a year of service. It helps to defray the cost for our job placements, provide the support we need through retreats and field visits from staff, and cover health insurance expenses. This fundraising not only allows for my experience, but it also allows for agencies like Cristo Rey Jesuit to save around $20,000 a year, money that can go directly to the people we serve.

I’ve had an amazing experience with JVC. It’s allowed me to work at a place like Cristo Rey Jesuit, it’s opened my eyes to the people and issues around me, and it’s introduced me to countless people who are just as passionate as I am about working for social justice.

This experience has shaped who I am, and I’ve been lucky to have the chance to play a part in shaping the lives of the students I teach. Now, I want to make sure that this work continues far after I’ve left JVC.

I know times may be difficult right now, but this is not just an opportunity for you to help only me. I’m also asking you to help future Jesuit Volunteers and, most importantly, the people they will serve.

For my birthday, please consider supporting me, future Jesuit Volunteers, and, most of all, the people we serve through this opportunity. It would really mean a lot!

To donate, CLICK THIS LINK to be taken to the Hike to Dis-O Fundraising Page. From there, click the link shown, then click “Make a Donation”. Select “Donate toward a Team or Individual’s goal” and search for “Thomas O’Keefe”. Select my name, click next, and then fill out the required fields. (I know it seems like a ton of steps, but it’s really very easy!)

You can also send donations to the JVC office at:
801 St. Paul St.
Baltimore, MD 21202
Checks should be made out to the Jesuit Volunteer Corps with my name in the Memo section.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at
TomOKeefe1 [@] gmail . com.

Thank you for all of your love and support!

Peace,

-Tom

P.S. Special thanks to Mike Schaffer for the idea!

6 Responses to My Birthday Gift

  1. Michael Simone says:

    I’m in. Are any of your housemates doing this too?

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Tom O'Keefe and Samantha Ogborn, Alex S.. Alex S. said: RT @TomOKeefe1: Tomorrow's my birthday. Instead of gifts, please read this: http://bit.ly/bpOfzG […]

  3. I love this, Tom! Good work 🙂

  4. […] our retreat to end our year of service. For my blog post and more information about it, CLICK HERE, or to go directly to the fundraising page, CLICK HERE. Thanks everyone! […]

Leave a Reply

